What do the colors mean on the NFPA diamond?

The four bars are color coded, using the modern color bar symbols with blue indicating the level of health hazard, red for flammability, orange for a physical hazard, and white for Personal Protection. The number ratings range from 0-4. The Health section conveys the health hazards of the material.

What do the four colors in the NFPA diamond mean?

The system uses a color-coded diamond with four quadrants in which numbers are used in the upper three quadrants to signal the degree of health hazard (blue), flammability hazard (red), and reactivity hazard (yellow). The bottom quadrant is used to indicate special hazards.

What do the colors on a fire Diamond mean?

Fire diamonds located on tanks and buildings indicate the level of chemical hazard located there. The four colors are blue, red, yellow, and white. … A four in the blue means severe and immediate health effects, including death, and a one time exposure can cause lasting health problems.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What to take to dig for diamonds?

What does the color white within a diamond mean?

These colors correspond to specific hazards: Red- Flammability Hazard. Blue- Health Hazard. Yellow- Instability Hazard. White- Special Hazard.

How do you interpret NFPA diamonds?

Within the diamond is a number (with the exception of the white diamond). The number corresponds to the level of danger a chemical poses. The lower the number, the lower the hazard. The numbers range from zero to four, with zero representing no hazard at all, and four representing an extreme hazard.

What do the colors mean in the ERG?

The ERG is organized into easily recognized colors. WHITE – Introduction, instruction, guidance, placards, and more. YELLOW – Materials ordered by 4-Digit UN/NA Number. BLUE – Materials ordered by dangerous goods material name.

What do the colors on a placard mean?

Green placards indicate the material is non-flammable; Yellow placards indicate the material is an oxidizer; Blue placards indicate the material is dangerous when wet; … Orange placards indicate the material is explosive; White placards with black stripes indicate miscellaneous hazardous materials.

What does white represent on the NFPA?

The last section of the NFPA color code is white. This area is often blank, as it is intended for special hazards beyond health, flammability, or instability and does not apply to a majority of hazardous materials.

What is the purpose of the fire diamond?

The fire diamond is part of the Standard System for the Identification of the Hazards of Materials for Emergency Response (NFPA 704). Hazardous chemicals are classified into three principle categories: health, flammability, and instability.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How much do gems weight?

What colors are diamond signs and what do they represent?

Warning Signs

These signs are yellow with black lettering or symbols and most are diamond-shaped. These signs warn you to slow down and be prepared to stop if necessary; a special situation or hazard is ahead.

What do Red Diamonds mean?

Red diamonds color symbolizes passion, power, and ritual. Red diamonds also symbolize form and the ability to be flexible within our form.

What color are hazard signs?

OSHA specifies that red, black and white colors are to be used for danger signs. Caution signs — Warn against potential hazards or caution against unsafe practices. OSHA specifies that caution signs must have a yellow background and black panel with yellow letters.

How do you read NFPA?

The red-colored section of the NFPA Diamond is located at the top or twelve o’clock position of the symbol and denotes a material’s flammability and susceptibility to catching fire when exposed to heat. Flammability is graded on a 0 to 4 scale, and a lower rating is safer.

What does the number zero on a yellow background mean?

a flammable vapor or gas which burns. what does the number zero on a yellow background mean? substance is stable readily.